2020 TREND FORECAST: FRESH NEW TRENDS FOR THE HOME

Updated: Nov 2, 2019

During the Fall 2019 High Point Market I was able to cover a lot of ground and want to share the top 5 trends I saw this season.


2020 TREND FORECAST 1: EARTH TONES

It wasn't just that it was a Fall Market, the colors are definitely trending towards the warm earth tones. I spotted upholstery in variations of green, rust, burgundy and navy velvets, terracotta and clay tones in art and area rugs, mustard yellow accents and warm pink tones are trending.


2020 TREND FORECAST 2: GOING GREEN

Green was literally everywhere! I mentioned that it was prevalent in upholstery pieces but there was more of a focus on sustainability as well as an abundance of indoor plants being used as decor.


2020 TREND FORECAST 3: ANIMAL PRINTS

I'm guessing that 1 in 5 designers at market were wearing some form of an animal print at this past market - add me to that list! In addition to fashion, I spotted a lot of animal prints in the showrooms - from fabrics to accessories to area rugs.


2020 TREND FORECAST 4: DRAMATIC HARDWARE

Hardware was front and center at this market! It was almost as if the dressers and armoires were designed around the hardware. Tassels, bugs, florals, lucite and brass were the most popular.


2020 TREND FORECAST 5: MOTIFS TO WATCH

Snakes! I never thought I'd say this but the snakes were pretty sexy. I saw designers sporting snake rings and necklaces as well as snakes on upholstery pieces and artwork. I love this mural in the Alden Parkes Showhouse in a Showroom featuring Jackie Von Tobel's artwork. One of my favorite spaces by designer Shannon Ggem!


SPECIAL THANKS TO ESTEEM MEDIA FOR ORGANIZING THE TOUR

Organizing and wrangling interior designers to stick together through High Point Market. 17 showroom tours, and over 20,000 steps is no easy feat! It was such an honor to have been selected as one of eight Design Bloggers to attend this tour. Thank you to Adam Japko and his Esteem Media team for introducing me to all of the new brands I wouldn’t have come across otherwise! I look forward to creating long-lasting relationships with each of these vendors for my upcoming design projects.


SHOUT OUT TO THE SPONSORS OF THE TOUR

A special thank you to all of the tour sponsors for your generosity!

  • Crypton Home Fabric, www.crypton.com: Norwalk Furniture, www.norwalkfurniture.com, Huntington House, www.huntingtonhouse.com, Cisco Brothers, www.ciscobrothers.com

  • Dorel Home, www.dhpfurniture.com

  • Four Hands, www.fourhands.com

  • Hooker Furniture, www.hookerfurniture.com

  • Hubbardton Forge, https://www.hubbardtonforge.com/

  • Hudson Valley Lighting Group, www.hudsonvalleylighting.com

  • Jaipur Living, www.jaipurliving.com

  • IMC – Interhall, www.imchighpointmarket.com/interhall: JAMES by Jimmy DeLaurentis, Dome Deco, Blue Print Collection

  • IMC – Salon, www.imchighpointmarket.com/salon: Daniel Stuart Studio, SIFAS, Windy O' Connor

  • Lloyd Flanders, www.lloydflanders.com

  • SmithHonig, www.smithhonig.com


FUN TIMES AND LASTING MEMORIES WITH THE OTHER DESIGN BLOGGERS ON THE TOUR

And lastly, thank you to all of the other talented selected to participate in the Design Bloggers tour:

You were all like family for two days and I know we’ll be connected through this experience forever. We pounded the pavement but we also had some great times, lots of laughs, lots and coffee and maybe a couple of cocktails! Here are some behind the scenes relaxation moments on the tour - cheers to all!


102 views
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle